Is Sterling Silver always better to wear than silver plated?

Here at Jetsy Jewelry I love to use a combination of sterling silver and silver plated materials in my designs. I feel this keeps the cost of my pieces affordable and while keeping the quality of my pieces high.

Turquoise with Sterling Silver Pendants and Beads

Here’s a quick breakdown of the differeces between the silvers:

Sterling silver and silver plated are two types of materials that are commonly used in jewelry and other decorative items. The main difference between these two materials is their composition and durability.

On the other hand, silver plated items are made from a base metal, such as copper or brass, that is coated with a thin layer of silver. The thickness of the silver coating can vary, but it is usually much thinner than the layer of silver in sterling silver items. This means that silver plated items may tarnish or wear off more easily over time, revealing the base metal underneath.

Overall, sterling silver is a higher quality material than silver plated, and is typically more expensive as a result. However, silver plated items can still be beautiful and affordable options for those who want the look of silver without the higher cost.

Thanks for reading my blog! If you like it please like and subscribe! And if you’d like to see more examples of silver jewelry feel free to visit my shop at http://www.jetsyjewelry.Etsy.com

Published by jetsyjewelry

I'm a jewelry fanatic and I've been making jewelry ever since I can remember! I especially love working with suedes, leathers and gemstones. I recently began understanding the huge healing benefits of crystals and gems and so I'll be exploring that here in my blog!

One thought on “Is Sterling Silver always better to wear than silver plated?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started